Biking over the Mackinac Bridge: DALMAC serves up an incredible experience

In DALMAC years, I’m a relative newcomer.  My inaugural ride was four years ago when I signed up for the four-day west IMG_2212(1)route.  It was an experience like no other when I pedaled more than 300 miles from East Lansing to Mackinac City.  After that, I was hooked on cycling.

Just a few days ago I finished my third DALMAC, this time the five-day east ride that includes peddling over the mighty and magnificent Mackinac Bridge that links the state’s two peninsulas.

The Mackinac Bridge is currently the fifth longest suspension bridge in the world. The Mackinac Bridge is the longest suspension bridge in the western hemisphere. The total length of the Mackinac Bridge is 26,372 feet. The length of the suspension bridge (including anchorages) is 8,614 feet.

As beautiful as the bridge is, driving can be a bit intimidating because the bridge soars far above lakes Michigan and Huron.  (The height of the roadway at mid-span is approximately 200 feet above water level.) How intimidating, you may ask?

The Mackinac Bridge Authority has a “Driver’s Assistance Program” that provides drivers for those uncomfortable with driving across the Mackinac Bridge.

Yeah, well, I pushed any nagging doubts to the back of my mind.  The fifth and final day was upon us and it was time to ride to Mackinac City and across the bridge.  We dawdled a bit, giving our official photographer time to arrive on the other side.

As we rounded the turn onto the bridge, the week’s SAG drivers were there shepherding riders to the five-mile journey across the bridge.  Game on!

IMG_2221As the ascent began, Lake Huron came into view.  This was spectacular; I slowed my pace to savor the experience.  Soon I was riding on the suspension portion of the bridge and a ferry to Mackinaw Island was passing below.  Filled with excitement and joy, I raised my hand and waved.  And waved and waved to anyone who may have been looking up our way.

Do you see me?  I am riding my bike over the bridge!  Can you believe it?

When we passed the midway point, we kept our speed in check, extending this awesome experience and ensuring our  group of seven would make the crossing together.

We wheeled into the rest area on the St. Ignace side of the bridge and exchanged high fives.  All around us fellow DALMAC riders were relishing their journey as well.  For me, it was the highlight of nearly 2,300 miles of biking this year.

And yes, I can’t wait to return to ride the bridge again.